Forty Hands

Today’s Recommendation: Forty Hands Cafe

forty hands

Many have been recommending Forty Hands cafe, highlighting the ambience of the place and the freshly brewed coffee they have. And I finally decided to head down to a recommended cafe that is so near me!

Visited Forty Hands with Sam (Yes, my cafe-hopping partner :P) on a random day. The only thing we knew about Forty Hands was, “It is situated somewhere in Tiong Bahru”. So, equipped with our iPhone (i mean the map), we decided to explore Tiong Bahru in search of Forty Hands.

I don’t know why we chose to explore on a sunny day. But I guess it was all worth it at the end!🙂

We walked quite a distance before we reach the cafe. But before that, we chanced upon…

Books Actually!

Yes yes! It is Books Actually! The very unique bookstore and you can find many books by local writers! And of course, I found my Creative Writing Professor’s…

Professor Robert Yeo!

Professor Robert Yeo is one amazing man! Although we joked around with him in class (almost seems like bullying him), but he always entertain us! He is already in his 70s! He is really one special guy; the only professor who organized a “End of Term party” for the class during my 4 years stint in SMU! It goes to show how much he loves teaching, how much he cherish the students he has!🙂 And oh, he just won an award few months back and was really proud of him!🙂

Ok, back to topic!

Forty Hands is located directly opposite Books Actually! The first impression I have of Forty Hands was “the place is rather small” or cosy if you prefer. 

Found a table at a corner, placed our orders and started snapping and observing the patrons. Here’s a shot of the corner we sat! Erm, I don’t know what the drawing meant, but find it rather cute😛

Ordered Latte as usual. And I was rather shocked by the size of my drink given the price. The glass looks slightly bigger than that of shots. 


However, after a sip of the coffee,  i went “WOW”! The coffee is REALLY THICK! Even Sam says so! We were still joking that this cup of coffee will definitely be of great help if we are rushing projects because we’ll definitely stay awake after drinking!

The rich taste of the coffee remains in your mouth for quite awhile. And this is really the first time I drink such thick coffee! Kinda like the taste though🙂

However, given the price, I think I paid around $5 – $6 for a small cup, I may not frequent the place despite it being really near my place. I don’t really like the feeling of, “i didnt have enough”, if you get what i mean.

Forty Hands Cafe
Blk 78 Yong Siak Street
#01-12 Singapore
Tel: +65 6225 8545

Operating Hours:
Closed on Monday
Tuesdays: 8:30am – 6:30pm
Wednesdays & Thursdays: 8:30am – 10pm
Fridays and Saturdays: 8:30am – 11pm
Sundays 8:30am – 6:30pm

About 5onefive

crazy. emotional. extrovert. introvert. sociable. unfriendly. i have many sides.
This entry was posted in Food, Rest & Relax and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

