Officially a SMU Graduate!

After 4 long years of hard work and anticipation, finally I can call myself a SMU Graduate!

I got my degree!!

The 4 years in SMU wasn’t smooth sailing, not at all, not in the least bit. Ending my education journey in university has always been “the right ending to education” therefore I decided to register myself for university admission after my polytechnic education. I would definitely feel that lady luck has always been with me throughout my entire education journey.

People have been telling me the transition from a polytechnic student to a university student is minimal. People who still think this way, I would recommend you to think again. I entered university carrying this mentality and I suffered. The only similarity between these 2 tertiary institutions is, the freedom students get.

Polytechnic life was one of the educational period I enjoyed the most; freedom, friends. It’s finally a time that’s not all about exams. You don’t have to do homework every other day, don’t have to hear the word “exams” so often. You get to hangout with your friends almost everyday due to projects and usually, friends are more easy-going and not so competitive. All we wanted was to complete the project, pass the semesters and get our diploma. And most importantly, your best friends and you attended all the classes together (without much bidding to do).

I thought life was almost like that too in university. But I was wrong, utterly wrong. Everytime when I recall how I spent my first year adapting, tears will start to form in my eyes. I am not a drama mama, but life in the first year was… very tough. I had a terribly hard time adapting. It was so competitive that you could hardly find someone who was willing to help you. But thankfully, I started adapting with the help of few friends (whom I am always grateful to). They showed me that there is still warmth amidst all the competition.

It wasn’t easy. You can hardly find true friends in there. People are so competitive and realistic. I kept telling myself that I must hang in there, for my parents, for myself, for my future. There was a period where I had to cry myself to bed almost every night because it was too stressful. Then I told myself I have to be strong and there is nothing beyond me, nothing is impossible. With that, I fought on.

Of course, there were happy times too. But happy times were limited. To sum it up, I am glad I have graduated and I am really enthusiastic and looking forward to the next phase of my life!🙂

Thank you to everyone whom have helped me in any ways during my times in SMU, be it good or bad. It was indeed a journey where I have learned many precious life lessons. It will not be forgotten.🙂

About 5onefive

crazy. emotional. extrovert. introvert. sociable. unfriendly. i have many sides.
This entry was posted in Friends, School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

