My virgin trip to the US – Part 1

I was informed that i’m to travel to the US for a business meeting back in February, not long after i’m back from my business trip in Shanghai. To be able to travel was one of the reasons that attracted me to my job and i was very excited upon receiving the news because it’s gonna be my first visit to the US!

Was there for 2 weeks, and i fell in love with the place! Though it was for business, i had a weekend there, and yes… more travelling… to SAN FRANCISCO!!

The journey there was longgggggggg but i’m glad i have my colleagues with me! It took 6 hours from Singapore to Seoul (for a stopover), then another ~14 hours from Seoul to San Francisco! And we had to do a transit from San Francisco to Sacramento! That’s not the end! We had another approximately 30-45mins drive from SMF to our destination!

Off the the States!!

Off the the States!!

No doubt, that was the smallest plane i have ever taken! I believe it takes only around 30pax and it has propeller!! We were all shocked to see that small plane, and the pilot maneuver the plane as though it is a car – i can feel us making a U-turn! But it was all safe!🙂

A glimpse of my hotel room! It wasn’t really a huge room (but big enough for me), and this does not have a kitchenette but I was more than satisfied with this🙂 I apologize for the very unglam state it was in. My only dislike would be the separation of the sink and the bathroom! (The sink and mirror is outside of the bathroom?!!)

my cosy room that i stayed in for 11 nights!

my cosy room that i stayed in for 11 nights!

And here’s some of the food that I’ve tried during my stay there! I did not manage to take pictures for all the meals (not everyone does this before meal, and this is more of a Singaporean habit, ain’t it? :P). Don’t want to malu (embarrass) myself! HAHA!

first meal: Italian food at Il Fornaio! Pizzas, spagetti!

first meal: Italian food at Il Fornaio! Pizzas, spaghetti!

Mac & Cheese at the YardHouse!

Mac & Cheese at the YardHouse!

The Yardhouse is a sports bar and they have more than a hundred types of beers from around the world! I can even find tiger beer there! You can walk around the bar to see the different beers they have! Love the environment there!

TGIF!! Steak, hotplate rice, cocktails!

TGIF!! Steak, hotplate rice, cocktails!

Went to TGIF twice (because it was just at the back of my hotel!) and the food and staffs there were very nice! I had the steak on my first visit, and the rice during the second visit! The mojito definitely taste better than the one in Singapore! The right concoction!

Chinese food! Soup & rice!!

Chinese food! Soup & rice!!

I was missing chinese food so badly after a few days because i’m so used to drinking my mum’s boiled soup every other day (and i will have rice for all my meals)! I was so glad that colleague brought us to a Chinese-Vietnamese restaurant for dinner! Definitely helped especially when i was craving for chinese food!

Awesome Japanese food!

Awesome Japanese food!

I think a few of us Asian ladies were missing some Asian food, and we went to the Japanese restaurant for dinner! For this huge bento set, it cost us 15usd! It’s much cheaper as compared to the ones we have in Singapore, especially when mine’s a Salmon, Saba, California sushi Bento! It comes with salad (appetizer), soup and fruits too! Really awesome food there! And guess what? It was also located just at the back of our hotel! I know right, we’re staying at an awesome place! HAHAHA!

The Habit, fastfood restaurant

The Habit, fastfood restaurant

I also tried their fastfood! I must try all sort of things when i’m travelling right?😛 And i went to a place call The Habit! Had a beef burger! Their burgers are definitely different from what we have in Singapore, more like the Carls Junior style, not McDonalds! Apparently, i was told that McDonalds is not popular in the States at all! Colleague was kind enough to invite me to join him and his family for dinner at this place! (with his wife and 2 kids!). They are really nice and easy-going people and i’m glad i joined them and got to know more about this place!

And i found something interesting. At most of the restaurants, they will usually give each table a plate consisting of these…

Fortune Cookie!

Fortune Cookie!

Yes! The Fortune Cookie!! It’s not a Facebook thing! It’s a real fortune cookie with a message inside! So interesting!!!! I know everything is just for fun but then, it’s creative!!!😀

Cheesecakes!

Cheesecakes!

I was told that the cheesecake factory is a must-try and… it’s definitely true!! 6 of us, we had 3 huge slices of cheesecake! The red velvet, the original, the chocolate and all 3 of them tasted so good! You wouldn’t like it if you ain’t a cheese fan because the taste of cheese is very strong! But it’s smooth and tasty! One of the best cheesecake i’ve ever tasted!!

I did not take pictures of my lunch (all the above pictures are dinner), as my lunch is usually done in the cafeteria in the office! Nothing special, cheeseburger, chicken burger, burrito, asian delights, salad etc!

I shall continue another post on my experience in San Francisco! Till then!🙂

About 5onefive

crazy. emotional. extrovert. introvert. sociable. unfriendly. i have many sides.
This entry was posted in Food, Holidays, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

